23rd Annual AAN-Carolinas Scholarship Gala

About the Gala

The AAN - Carolinas Scholarship Gala is endorsed by Duke Energy, and the proceeds go directly towards funding scholarship awards. The Scholarship Program currently provides three, renewable $2,000 scholarships per year to students pursuing math, science, accounting and other energy related degrees at colleges and universities in North and South Carolina. The funds are managed through the Foundation For The Carolinas (FFTC). To date, the event has raised more than $1 million and 89 students have received scholarships.

  • Two scholarships are awarded to students enrolled at accredited colleges or universities; one is awarded to a student through a community service organization (e.g., Charlotte Housing Authority).
  • The college, university or community service organization selects the scholar using A3 Charlotte criteria, which focuses on grade point average (GPA), residence, leadership skills and financial need.
  • Scholars must meet certain enrollment and GPA criteria in order to renew their scholarships.
  • The annual fundraising gala is the primary funding source for scholarships.
  • Twelve scholarship awards are active during a given year.

Keynote Speaker

Elwood L. Robinson, Ph. D.

Chancellor, Winston-Salem State University


A native of Ivanhoe, North Carolina, Dr. Elwood L. Robinson graduated magna cum laude from North Carolina Central University (NCCU) in 1978 with a degree in psychology and then earned a master's degree in the field from Fisk University in Tennessee. After completing a pre-doctoral internship at Duke University Medical Center – performing rotations in neuropsychology, psychiatric inpatient and behavioral medicine and health psychology – he began his doctoral work in clinical psychology at Penn State where he earned his Ph.D. in clinical psychology in 1986.


Dr. Robinson is currently the 13th Chancellor of Winston-Salem State University – a position he has held since Jan. 1, 2015. As the chief executive officer of WSSU, he has overseen the development of an ambitious strategic plan that sets a course for the university to be recognized as a leader in educating students who thrive in a dynamic society. During the 2017-2018 academic year, nearly half of the university's undergraduate student population engaged in high-impact practices, such as internships, faculty-mentored research projects, or study abroad experiences.


Active in professional and civic organizations, Dr. Robinson has received numerous awards and honors over the course of his career. A former National Institutes of Health Fellow, he has received the Sigma Xi Award (1995), the Omega Psi Phi Founder's Award (2007), an Image Award from the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (2003), the Order of the Long Leaf Pine (2012), Penn State's Most Outstanding Alumni (2018), and the L. Richardson Preyer Alumni Award (2018). He has served on the boards of the YMCA of the Greater Triangle, the Center for Child and Family Health, and the Uplift Foundation, and has served as a delegate for the People to People Citizen Ambassador Program to China, Egypt and South Africa.

AAN - Carolinas Scholarship Recipients
Name School Major Class
Yasmine Parker Johnson C. Smith University Computer Programming Senior
Brandon Tymes Livingstone College Business Administration Senior
DeAnna Turner University of NC - Charlotte Chemistry Senior
Catira McCaskill Wingate University Biology Junior
Darlasia Salmond Johnson C. Smith University Business Administration Junior
Leyana Casey Wake Forest University Chemistry Junior
Destiny Barnes University of NC - Charlotte Biology Sophomore
Devontae Smith University of NC - Charlotte Environmental Science Sophomore
Sativa Temple North Carolina Central University Business - Marketing Sophomore
Jevelyn Cox University of SC - Columbia Finance Freshman
Kelsey Fauntleroy University of NC - Chapel Hill Chemistry Freshman
Ciriniti McCain NC A&T State University Business Marketing Freshman


Event Details

Saturday, April 27, 2019
The 658 Center

3646 Central Ave
Charlotte, NC 28205

Cocktail Attire

6:00 PM - 7:00 PM Silent Auction
Networking Reception
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Gala/Keynote Speaker

Scholar Presentation

9:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Music, dancing and socializing

Closing of Silent Auction

Complimentary parking is available at The 658 Center.


Register by 4/12/2019 5:00 PM

If you are unable to attend the event and would still like to contribute to the AAN - Carolinas Scholarship Fund, please click register and select 'Unable to attend – Donation only' in the form.

Sponsorship Levels

Diamond Sponsor $2,500

  • Preferred Seating for ten (10)/Full table
  • On-screen gala night recognition as Diamond Sponsor
  • Gala table recognition

Platinum Sponsor $1,000

  • Seating for eight (8)
  • On-screen gala night recognition as Platinum Sponsor
  • Gala table recognition


Gold Sponsor $700

  • Seating for six (6)
  • Gala table recognition


Silver Sponsor $350

  • Seating for four (4)
  • Gala table recognition


Bronze Sponsor $170

  • Seating for two (2)

Supporter Level $90

  • Seating for one (1)

All scholarship contributions are tax deductible in accordance with IRS regulations.

* For Gala Recognition (Silver level sponsorships and above), registration must be completed by Friday, April 5, 2019.

Partnership with AABE - North Carolina

Advocates for African-Americans Charlotte Chapter is partnering with the North Carolina Chapter of AABE to support the recognition of high school STEM students receiving $1000 scholarships.

The North Carolina Chapter of the American Association of Blacks in Energy (AABE) is one of eleven chapters within the Southeast Region of the organization. The member companies include (but not limited to): The ABB Group, Advanced Energy, Duke Energy, GE Energy, Greenville Utilities, Piedmont Natural Gas, PSNC Energy, Raleigh Area Development Authority and Siemens.

Professionals in all energy and energy related disciplines (oil, gas, electricity, nuclear, renewables, government, technology, energy services and water) as well as college students at accredited institutions studying energy-related fields are also encouraged to participate in AABE.

Through its Scholarship Program, AABE seeks to help increase the number of African Americans, Hispanics and Native Americans (underrepresented minorities) in energy related fields. By doing so, they help our nation address a critical need and a challenge to our future economic vitality in the world market.

Please visit the AABE website for more information.


If you have questions about this event, please contact:

Ebony Belton
(980) 373-6479


Cassandra Springer
(704) 382-3067

For assistance with registration please email: eventsupport@duke-energy.com.