22nd Annual AAN-Carolinas Scholarship Gala

The AAN - Carolinas Scholarship Program currently provides three, renewable $2,000 scholarships per year to students pursuing math, science, accounting and other energy related degrees at colleges and universities in North and South Carolina. The AAN-Carolinas Scholarship Gala is hosted by Advocates for African Americans (A3), a Duke Energy employee resource group and is endorsed by the company. All proceeds from the event go directly towards funding scholarship awards. Funds are managed by the Foundation For The Carolinas. To date, the event has raised more than $1 million and 86 students have received scholarships.

  • Two scholarships are awarded to accredited colleges or universities and one to a community service organization (e.g. Charlotte Housing Authority, Durham Housing Authority, and Winston Salem Housing Authority).

  • The college, university or community service organization selects the scholar using A3 - Charlotte criteria which focuses on grade point average (GPA), residence, leadership skills and financial need.

  • Scholars must meet certain enrollment and GPA criteria in order to renew their scholarships.

  • Twelve scholarship awards are active during a given year.

  • This annual event is the primary funding source for scholarships.

Keynote Speaker

Richard 'Stick' Williams

Retired Duke Energy Vice President,

Corp Community Affairs and President,

The Duke Energy Foundation

Co- Chair of Project LIFT

Richard “Stick” Williams retired December 31, 2015 from Duke Energy Corporation. At the time of his retirement, he served as Vice President ('VP') of Corporate Community Affairs at Duke Energy Corporation and President of the Duke Energy Foundation. Over his 37-year career at Duke Energy Corporation, he held various leadership roles which included VP of Environmental, Health & Safety, VP of Diversity & Talent Management and VP of Diversity, Ethics & Compliance and Chief Compliance Officer. The Greensboro, N.C. native graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill with a Bachelor of Science degree in accounting.


Williams is a current board member for Coca-Cola Bottling Company Consolidated (COKE) and HomeTrust Bancshares (HTBI). He is co-chair of Project LIFT, an innovative philanthropic initiative to address educational issues in the Charlotte Mecklenburg School's West Charlotte Corridor.


Williams was named one of 2015's 'Heroes of the Fortune 500' for good works by employees of the nation's largest companies. Fortune magazine recognized Mr. Williams for his leadership in the Project LIFT initiative. North Carolina's Governor also conferred the Order of the Long Leaf Pine on Mr. Williams, one of North Carolina's most prestigious honors, and the Greater Charlotte YMCA named him the 2017 John R. Mott Award recipient, the association's highest honor.

AAN - Carolinas Scholarship Recipients
Name School Major Class
Rashad Robinson Winston Salem State University Chemistry Senior
Markodou Drammeh UNC Charlotte Electrical Engineering Senior
D'Andra Lawes UNC Charlotte Computer Science/Information Systems Senior
Yasmine Parker Johnson C. Smith University Computer Programming Junior
Brandon Tymes Livingstone College Business Administration Junior
DeAnne Turner UNC Charlotte Chemistry Junior
Catira McCaskill Wingate Biology Sophomore
Darlasia Salmond Johnson C. Smith University Business Administration Sophomore
Leyana Casey Wake Forest University Chemistry Sophomore
Destiny Barnes UNC Charlotte Biology Freshman
Devontae Smith UNC Charlotte Environmental Science Freshman
Sativa Temple North Carolina Central Business - Marketing Freshman


Event Details

Saturday, April 28, 2018

The 658 Center
3646 Central Ave
Charlotte, NC 28205

Cocktail Attire

6:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Scholar Reception
Silent Auction
Networking Reception

7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Gala/Keynote Speaker

Scholar Presentation

9:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Music, dancing and socializing

Closing of Silent Auction

Complimentary parking is available at The 658 Center.


Register by 4/21/2018 5:00 PM

If you are unable to attend the event and would still like to contribute to the AAN - Carolinas Scholarship Fund, please click register and select 'Unable to attend – Donation only' in the form.

Sponsorship Levels

Diamond Sponsor $2,500 *

  • Preferred Seating for ten (10)/Full table
  • On-screen gala night recognition as Diamond Sponsor
  • Recognition in gala program*

Platinum Sponsor $1,000 *

  • Seating for eight (8)
  • On-screen gala night recognition as Platinum Sponsor
  • Recognition in gala program*

Gold Sponsor $700 *

  • Seating for six (6)
  • Recognition in gala program*

Silver Sponsor $350 *

  • Seating for four (4)
  • Recognition in gala program*

Bronze Sponsor $170

  • Seating for two (2)

Supporter Level $90

  • Seating for one (1)

All scholarship contributions are tax deductible in accordance with IRS regulations.

*For Program Publication (Silver level sponsorships and above), registration must be completed by Friday, March 30, 2018.

Partnership with AABE - North Carolina

Advocates for African-Americans Charlotte Chapter is partnering with the North Carolina Chapter of AABE to support the recognition of high school STEM students receiving $1000 scholarships.

The North Carolina Chapter of the American Association of Blacks in Energy (AABE) is one of eleven chapters within the Southeast Region of the organization. The member companies include (but not limited to): The ABB Group, Advanced Energy, Duke Energy, GE Energy, Greenville Utilities, Piedmont Natural Gas, PSNC Energy, Raleigh Area Development Authority and Siemens.

Professionals in all energy and energy related disciplines (oil, gas, electricity, nuclear, renewables, government, technology, energy services and water) as well as college students at accredited institutions studying energy-related fields are also encouraged to participate in AABE.

Through its Scholarship Program, AABE seeks to help increase the number of African Americans, Hispanics and Native Americans (underrepresented minorities) in energy related fields. By doing so, they help our nation address a critical need and a challenge to our future economic vitality in the world market.

Please visit the AABE website for more information.


If you have questions about this event, please contact:


AAN-Carolinas Scholarship Gala Committee

Crystal Batts
(980) 373-4548

Rontechia Armstrong
(980) 232-4627

For assistance with registration please email: eventsupport@duke-energy.com.