Suicide Prevention


Date: Friday, April 23, 2021
Workshop Time: 8:30 AM- 11:30 AM

Location: Virtual Training - Detailed information will be sent to participants on how to log in remotely.


Workshop Description: Suicide is the second leading cause of death in adolescents, and rates have been rising for nearly a decade. This training will review the role of schools and school staff in understanding, identifying, and intervening in youth at risk for preventable death by suicide. Specifically, this training will provide concrete and actionable steps that schools can take within a multi-tiered system of supports approach to address risk actively and comprehensively for suicide in their students, including increased risk associated with COVID and recent national events. We will also discuss modifications that can be made to suicide prevention programs and policies to address remote or hybrid learning environments.                         

Presenter: Dr. Jason J. Washburn

Jason J. Washburn, Ph.D., ABPP is a board-certified clinical child and adolescent psychologist.  He received his Ph.D. in clinical psychology from DePaul University, completed his clinical internship at the University of Washington School of Medicine, and a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Michigan Medical School. He was a Robert Wood Johnson Research Scholar at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine PhD programs in Clinical Psychology. He is also a research consultant within the Center for Childhood Resilience at Lurie Children's Hospital and a consultant with AMITA Behavioral Health.



Credits: 3 PD  hours will be offered to Teachers and Administrators, and 3 Clock hours will be offered to Social Workers, Speech Language Pathologists, Occupational Therapists, and Physical Therapists. 

Fee: $75.00*- Payment may be made by cash, check, or money order (payable to the Eisenhower Cooperative, please include participant's name and workshop title).
Mail Payment to: Eisenhower Cooperative, 5318 W. 135th Street, Crestwood, IL 60418, Attn: Paola Lopez

*Free of charge to Eisenhower Cooperative and member district employees.
Member districts include:
125, 126, 127, 127.5, 130, 132, 143, 143.5, and 218

Registration Deadline: Friday, April 16, 2021 at 3:00 PM