Date: Wednesday, April 26, 2023
Time: 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Location coming soon.
Dental therapists are now legal in Michigan, how will that effect the way you practice?
In this seminar you will learn what exactly the new law legalizes and how it will affect your practice and the way you practice dentistry.
In December 2018 a law was passed making Michigan the eighth state to authorize dental therapists. This course will provide an overview of the role of this new dental team member as well as the required educational preparation and licensure requirements.
1. Learn about the ever-changing complexion of dental healthcare and hygiene profession.
2. Growing dental therapy profession and what it means to dentists/hygienists.
3. Introduction to a new dental partnership model.
4. Career Opportunities and open positions.
Misty Davis RDH, BS
Misty worked as a clinician for 14 years before coming to The Michigan Primary Care Association, where she works as an oral health care specialist. Her work involves providing training and support to FQHC dental departments, working with FQHC's on oral health - related grant projects and fostering the implementation of dental therapy in Michigan.
Misty has been an active member of the American Dental Hygienists Association since 2007, collaborating with peers to advance the profession of dental hygiene and improve access to care. For the past two years, she has served as the president of her local component Capital Region Dental Hygienists' Association and is in the process of resigning this position to pursue her Masters in Public Health at Michigan State University.
PEAK Education & Training is designated as an Approved PACE Program Provider by the Academy of General Dentistry. The formal continuing education programs of this program provider are accepted by AGD for Fellowship, Mastership and membership maintenance credit. Approval does not imply acceptance by a state or provincial board of dentistry or AGD endorsement. The current term of approval extends from 4/1/2018-3/31/2022. Provider #209195
Cancellation/Refunds: Cancellations received less than two weeks (13 or less days) prior to the start of the course, will receive a credit voucher less a $25 admin fee valid for 1 year from the date of the cancelled course. There are no refunds or credit for cancellations on the day of the course or for no-shows.